just getting started

Doomsday Prepper Forums

Help Support Doomsday Prepper Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Rowdy

Reaction score
Hi, I'm Rowdy from Mississippi, I am currently a teacher, I live on a nice size piece of land, I discuss prepping with my students often, Prepping is something I think a lot about, would like to get advice from experienced prepper's

Welcome Rowdy!

What level are you at already? Or, are there some specific things you want to know about? Some of us have prepped for a while, etc. but we ALL can learn from each other. It's a pretty friendly place, so feel free to ask questions, etc.

Welcome Rowdy!

What level are you at already? Or, are there some specific things you want to know about? Some of us have prepped for a while, etc. but we ALL can learn from each other. It's a pretty friendly place, so feel free to ask questions, etc.

Level? Zero, I reckon, I've got land with plenty of game, I don't have any stored food stuff, on are very close by is a lake, creek, ponds, and I've got underground springs all over my land. I've got cattle, in the near future I plan on getting chickens and pigs. I would like to know about solar energy, windmills, what type of food are others storing and how long they will last in storage, should I, with this much water around, be storing water?

Do you have a well? I do, but I still store water. It's too important a resource not to.

On windmills, your state (like mine) isn't going to see much power from them. You can google for wind maps. Solar though, is certainly a good option.

On food:

Mashed potato flakes, dry beans, rice, dry pasta, dry corn, etc. can last around 15 years if stored right.
Home-canned food is easily 5-10 years.
Store-canned food is 1-3 years.

Cattle and chickens are good, easy to keep and feed. Pigs take a bit more work. Of course, likely you have room to garden too.