Cheap compass vesus "military grade compass"?

Doomsday Prepper Forums

Help Support Doomsday Prepper Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ZA Boer

Reaction score
I would be the first to admit. I am no expert. But based in South Africa. I feel I may very soon need a way to navigate based on a compass.

If you know a bit of South Africa you know it going from bad to worse and shows no sign of stopping. That said I need to look at getting a reliable compass. But, what are the benefits of a military grade compass over a cheap compass?

The issue is the "better" compass will cost me significantly more as it will likely need to be imported from the US or Europe since anything worth something is made not in our native country. So again is it worth it?

south-africa-civil-war-678x381.jpg.optimal.jpg

get a bug out bag and pack it with stuff you might need if you have to get out fast, just don't overload it so its too heavy, i'm not talking backpack here- which would draw attention- just a small maybe single strap over shoulder type bag which can be hidden under a jacket.

I have two backpacks....but issue 1. Both are low quality. IE Made in China so Buckles, stitching and materials are not in anyway close to Mystery Ranch or a USMC Gen 2 ILBE-Dont ask why I know about these two items/ brands as more then anything I want a legit Multicam backpack-again if you want anything Mil grade here be prepared to import it as a huge cost and mark up as it is a once off.