Best ecosystem after SHTF

Doomsday Prepper Forums

Help Support Doomsday Prepper Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Duderino

Reaction score
Hi all,

New here.

Just wondering:

Let's assume you bug out early enough way deep in whichever wilderness and 90% of human beings are wiped out for whichever reason (just assuming).

What would be the best ecosystem for long term survival as a small group with basic bushcraft knowledge (= read a few good books, didn't practice much)?

Would a boreal area with decent wildlife but harsh winters be better than a tropical one with probably more stuff to hunt, but more diseases and poisonous wildlife?

I know people thrived in any environment, so, in a way, it's a stupid question, but I'm just curious what the experts out here think.

Thanks

I'm no expert and no question is stupid !!!
all questions are good.

for me, I'd prolly like the boreal,sure winters can and would be hard,but still, less critters that can kill you ;)
but if you are stupid there it will kill you too.

In the US, I would target the Mid-Atlantic region. The area has distinct seasons. While does get hot during the summer months, does not last long. Can get cold in winter but, again, does not last long. Good growing environment with lots of water including large streams and rivers. I want a place that does not have extremes and lots of natural resources.

I always say, follow the water, it doesn't matter if the climate is cold or hot. The area needs to sustain itself with water even in dry periods throughout the year. I prefer Northwest and Pacific Northwest (politics aside) Each place has its own set of hazards and challenges just make sure you study the area you choose in-depth from foraging to the history waterways including the location of rivers brooks stream and creeks. Look at historical accounts that go back more than a 1oo years (floods drought fires etc..)