One Second After

Prepper & Survivalism Forum

Help Support Doomsday Prepper Forums:

ElGuapo

New Member
Joined
Feb 1, 2013
Messages
26
Reaction score
18
Location
California BayArea
This is a really good book a must read. Scariest book I have ever read

New York Times best selling author William R. Forstchen now brings us a story which can be all too terrifyingly real...a story in which one man struggles to save his family and his small North Carolina town after America loses a war, in one second, a war that will send America back to the Dark Ages...A war based upon a weapon, an Electro Magnetic Pulse (EMP). A weapon that may already be in the hands of our enemies.


Months before publication, One Second After has already been cited on the floor of Congress as a book all Americans should read, a book already being discussed in the corridors of the Pentagon as a truly realistic look at a weapon and its awesome power to destroy the entire United States, literally within one second. It is a weapon that the Wall Street Journal warns could shatter America. In the tradition of On the Beach, Fail Safe and Testament, this book, set in a typical American town, is a dire warning of what might be our future...and our end.
http://www.amazon.com/One-Second-After-William-Forstchen/dp/0765356864
 

ElGuapo

New Member
Joined
Feb 1, 2013
Messages
26
Reaction score
18
Location
California BayArea
Just started reading Patriots: A Novel of Survival in the Coming Collapse i will check that one out when i am done with this book
 

ChickenLittle

Member
Joined
Feb 4, 2013
Messages
104
Reaction score
43
Location
MIchigan
Months before publication, One Second After has already been cited on the floor of Congress as a book all Americans should read, a book already being discussed in the corridors of the Pentagon as a truly realistic look at a weapon and its awesome power to destroy the entire United States, literally within one second. It is a weapon that the Wall Street Journal warns could shatter America. In the tradition of On the Beach, Fail Safe and Testament, this book, set in a typical American town, is a dire warning of what might be our future...and our end.
http://www.amazon.com/One-Second-After-William-Forstchen/dp/0765356864

HAHAHA, congress says we should read it!? I'm sure PhoenixPreppin would be happy to know they encourage prepping. Sorry, I'm still a little tweaked after having just read his tread that they condemed his land and blew up his preps.

Does sound like a cool book. I will have to check it out.
 

artbylorraine

Member
Joined
Mar 29, 2013
Messages
57
Reaction score
15
Location
Nevada
Who wrote "Life as We Knew It"? I would love to get that book. I read "One Second After" and it brought me to tears. To think that our country, the one we love so much, can be destroyed so easily.
 

old_anorak

Prepping Goddess
Joined
Dec 12, 2012
Messages
2,702
Reaction score
2,064
Location
missouri
I'll ask my kidlet, we've read the trilogy, they are excellent books.
 

Gazrok

A True Doomsday Prepper
Member
Joined
Aug 15, 2013
Messages
7,477
Reaction score
9,118
Location
Florida
I have ZERO doubt that both Russia and the US have such a weapon. It certainly is within their tech range, both in nuclear ability and in delivery capability. It is also within China's realm of possibility, so that wouldn't surprise me either. Doubtful for anyone else though, except maybe the UK. It is amazing how vulnerable our grid is though, which is why I think regardless of the SHTF event, grid loss will be part of it (along with the inevitable meltdown of the nuke plants).
 

TypicalDude

Member
Joined
Aug 24, 2013
Messages
48
Reaction score
17
Location
Antarctic
The US/NATO military superiority over the all world is certain. If someone's gonna attack this alliance will have very very bad time and no president wants to die.
 

artbylorraine

Member
Joined
Mar 29, 2013
Messages
57
Reaction score
15
Location
Nevada
They would like us to think that, at least. There are people in this world who don't mind dying and think that they will be assured virgins in their new life...sound familiar?
 

DrHenley

Top Poster
Global Moderator
Member
Joined
Sep 7, 2013
Messages
12,554
Reaction score
39,891
Location
Columbus, GA USA
Good book, based on historical precedents and some pretty accurate science. If nothing else, it is good food for thought. I think the after-effects of the EMP blasts were exaggerated somewhat, but we've known about the dangers of high altitude nuclear EMPs since 1962.

Here is the Wikipedia page on "Starfish Prime", a high altitude nuclear blast (1.4 MegaTon at 250 miles) that destroyed one third of the low orbit satellites, shut down a telephone microwave link and knocked out 300 street lights in Hawaii 900 miles from the detonation point.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Starfish_Prime

We were not nearly as vulnerable then as we are now.
 

Overlord

Active Member
Joined
Jul 16, 2013
Messages
781
Reaction score
317
Location
Philippines
Was able to get a free copy at Amazon a few weeks ago. Am currently reading it. Seems to be a nice read. I like the Writer's style
 

Evolon73

Member
Joined
Oct 1, 2013
Messages
87
Reaction score
41
Location
Illinois
Been researching the hell out of Faraday boxes. Because I never just believe what I'm told. I generally research a lot. And then chose the safest bet. Lots of debate about grounding Faraday boxes. And I'm rather certain that it won't hurt to ground them to earth. People say I don't need to... but its not difficult and adds an extra safety feature. Better safe than sorry.
 

Clyde

H.M.F.I.C.
Administrator
Global Moderator
Member
Joined
Feb 5, 2012
Messages
5,173
Reaction score
2,636
Location
Communist State Of Kalifornia
Been researching the hell out of Faraday boxes. Because I never just believe what I'm told. I generally research a lot. And then chose the safest bet. Lots of debate about grounding Faraday boxes. And I'm rather certain that it won't hurt to ground them to earth. People say I don't need to... but its not difficult and adds an extra safety feature. Better safe than sorry.
I have been wanting to build one myself. I have heard using a metal trashcan lined with cardboard is a great way to go.
Anyone else have an idea on this?
 

Latest posts

Top