Fence Energizers

Doomsday Prepper Forums

Help Support Doomsday Prepper Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Survivor_316

A True Doomsday Prepper
VIP Supporter
Reaction score
Do any of you use battery energizers for electric fencing? If so, any tips for choosing a good one?

I'm putting up a new area with netting in the woods too far for a plug and too shady for a solar. I'm thinking about buying a new battery energizer, but I am not good at this stuff.

It would probably only really need to be .25 joules, but I always prefer to overdo things since I would inevitably use it somewhere else or add on/change plans mid-project.

...not that I am known foe that kind of thing or anything.

Get one with the highest joules rating you can get. I've used the battery powered ones before and they do a good job. They last quite awhile on a fully charged battery too. You'll just need to bring the battery in and recharge occasionally.
You may need multiple ground rods for best effect. Some areas around here the ground is so dry we'd have take a barrel of water and soak the ground rod for it to work properly.

Get one with the highest joules rating you can get. I've used the battery powered ones before and they do a good job. They last quite awhile on a fully charged battery too. You'll just need to bring the battery in and recharge occasionally.
You may need multiple ground rods for best effect. Some areas around here the ground is so dry we'd have take a barrel of water and soak the ground rod for it to work properly.
Thank you! Is there any benefit to getting a combo one that can run on AC or DC?

And do the batteries charge fully over night if we just brought it in then?

Thank you! Is there any benefit to getting a combo one that can run on AC or DC?

And do the batteries charge fully over night if we just brought it in then?