Whats in your bug out bag?

Doomsday Prepper Forums

Help Support Doomsday Prepper Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

richy rich

Reaction score
hey guys im a little new to prepping. i was wondering what are some items should put in my B.O.B. and could you put a list of whats in yours to give me ideas. thanks :)

This is a good starting list. As you gain more knowledge you'll need less in your bag. Just remember knowledge is lighter than gear.

Attachments

• Urban Bug Out Bag - TheUrbanPrepper.pdf
    5.4 MB · Views: 18
Think of the basics first. Then add on to personalize.
I'll have to find my most up to date list to paste here.

It also matters what purpose your BOB is. Is it to get to your safe location? Or is it to go out and survive off indefinitely?
Once this is answered, how many days, on foot, will it take you to get to your safe location?

Most BOB's are designed for a 72 hour supply

Water is the most important. 3 days without it, and you die. (but before death, it will make EVERYTHING else much harder). In addition to some bottled water, a $20 filter straw can really open up a lot of water source options for you.

For me, a Firearm and Ammo is the next most important (you can go without food for a couple of weeks, though like a lack of water, won't be pretty). This is because your main problem in a SHTF scenario will be your fellow man.

Food is next on the list. Pack food you can eat easily while moving and that don't need preparation (since the goal is to get somewhere). Ration bars are great for this. Jerky, nuts, multi-vitamins, etc.

Shelter is next, depending on climate. In FL, I don't have to worry about the cold, but if I'm soaking wet due to rain, I won't be a happy camper, so this includes things like a poncho. Doesn't mean you need a tent, just something that will keep the elements at bay. You won't be hoofing it 24/7...you'll need to sleep sometime.