Where do you guys buy from?

Doomsday Prepper Forums

Help Support Doomsday Prepper Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Maynard

Reaction score
Hi, I go by Maynard and I live in the south. I am a novice at this. I was wondering how to stock up on emergency food/water? Where is the best place to buy? I hope to be self-sufficient eventually, but you can always have more right? Anyway, where is the best place to go? Any other advice for a new prepper?

We save our own water in our used gallon milk jugs. In am emergency we can walk to a lake for water, boil it and use it. We haven't done much about emergency food though.

They say "eat what you prep, and prep what you eat"

With that in mind I think about the shelf stable foods you eat like pasta, sauce, canned foods ect. watch for sales and shop at discount stores in your area to stock up on these things. keep reading and thinking about what you want to do as you build up your pantry and by the time it is time to consider buying really long term stuff you will be informed enough to know if you want to buy that expensive freeze dried stuff and mre's or just put it together on your own with bulk bags of rice and beans etc.

I don't know if any of these are down by you but i find good deals and sales at:

save-a-lot
aldi's
costco
sam's club

If you can find a locally owned grocery store in a bad neigborhood they will likely have some good deals as well.