Solar Backup System

Doomsday Prepper Forums

Help Support Doomsday Prepper Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Okay Im a mechanical engineer but I get lost as a human can get when it comes to electrical work any more complex than a outlet or a ceiling fan, I want to get a little solar array running I don't plan on using for anything other than a emergency system often so basically here's a list breakout of what I want the system to be like if anyone can be kind enough too give me some pointers

Property Info of what im working with: Partially shaded throughout the day, I'd say some spots get a solid (easy) 7 hours throughout the year constantly (which I don't know much about solar but I know that isn't prime but those 7 hours are fully unshaded sun hitting most of the roof)
as low tech (no bluetooth phone hook up crap) as possible
Id like for a system to be able to just run mostly at night current estimate for past 3 bills would break down to 16000 watts a day
I could do some more optimizing to my power usage so I think I could work it down to 13000 a day with some tweaks

What I need help with: how many and what size panels would I need to run that system 24/7 if need be?
how many and what sized batteries?
and I want something that would automatically kick on something rigged to the breaker box to auto kick on if it detects no power from actually regular power grid (so do they make something like that if so what is it called?)
and that's preeeeety much it

Okay Im a mechanical engineer but I get lost as a human can get when it comes to electrical work any more complex than a outlet or a ceiling fan, I want to get a little solar array running I don't plan on using for anything other than a emergency system often so basically here's a list breakout of what I want the system to be like if anyone can be kind enough too give me some pointers