Newbie Prepper Seeks Advice

Doomsday Prepper Forums

Help Support Doomsday Prepper Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Gregg

Reaction score
I am really new at this. However, I find it difficult to deny that an economic collapse is imminent. Nevertheless, I'm not here to debate my theories as to what may or may not happen. I seek advice from an experienced prepper. My wife and I and our newborn twins (4 month old girls) live in North Carolina. We have started some light food preparation. However, in spite of what we have already saved we have an additional budget of one thousand dollars and we are looking to buy food. We have already stockpiled some guns and ammunition. We have also put away what additional food we could save. My question is, given an extra 1,000 dollars what would you buy in terms of food. From reading there seems to be two schools of thought. First is to buy things that we actually use from our local grocery stores. Second theory is to buy prepackaged food from companies such as Augason Farms. Any thoughts on what to buy and how to do it would be greatly appreciated. The more detailed the better. We are also a bit worried about storage. We plan to store the food in our storage shed but worry about the winter cold. Would a small heater help with this? Thanks for your imput.