Must Read New Here -- Hello Fellow Preppers

Doomsday Prepper Forums

Help Support Doomsday Prepper Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Chuck Oholohan

Reaction score
Hello fellow preppers,

I am new to the forums. A bit about me: I'm a single father (recently divorced) of three beautiful girls. My family means the world to me. Recently, I got what I guess you could call the "prepper bug." With all the unrest around the world, particularly radical Islamic terrorists, I no longer feel comfortable leaving the safety of my family to others. It's time to take matters into my own hands!

I've been reviewing the forums and love the information so far. Like I said, I'm very new to this. I'm wondering does anyone have any experience prepping on a budget? Truth be told, I don't have a lot of extra money to spend on fancy gadgets and what not. We did just have eight years of an Obama economy! What should I focus on? Where should I spend my limited funds? What items can I go without for now?

I currently have a collapsible knife that I bought last week from Menards. I love it, and I feel much safer with it on my person. When I go to bed, I put it on my nightstand. I also have a pair of binoclurs that I used to use for bird watching. They still work well. This week when I went to the grocery store I bought a few extra items than I normally would (some meat, a gallon of water, and some ramen noodles). I don't intend to eat or drink these extra supplies. I figure if I buy a little extra each week I can eventually accumulate a decent stash.

Well, folks, how am I doing? And what should I focus on going forward? Are there particular posts on the forums that I should study? Thanks in advance for all of your help. I'm looking forward to meeting people, learning more about prepping, and forming some lasting relationships.