Footwear

Doomsday Prepper Forums

Help Support Doomsday Prepper Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

AimoL

Reaction score
What kind of footwear do you have for a bugout situation? I bought some tennis shoes not long ago that worked good in the store but when I walked down my dirt road they weren't comfortable. I hate shoe shopping so I was just wondering what other people are buying.

What kind of footwear do you have for a bugout situation? I bought some tennis shoes not long ago that worked good in the store but when I walked down my dirt road they weren't comfortable. I hate shoe shopping so I was just wondering what other people are buying.
As for me I have a few types of "combat" style boots I like. I have been using Bates for many years for my work, and have never had a problem with them.
I prefer boots over "tennis" shoes as I feel there is more support, and definitely more foot and ankle protection.

AWESOME thread!!!

My wife and I were talking about this just yesterday! I like Clydesdale, prefer a combat style boot. My wife prefers an outdoor hiker, over the ankle, and made of gore-tex with a heavily lugged sole.

Where you are and how long you'll be out makes a HUGE impact on footwear selection. It may be a good idea to keep a 2nd or even 3rd pair of footwear in your car or BOV so you have an option. Where i live, weather can be 90 in the summer or 10 in the winter with a foot of snow on the ground. Where I was in FLorida, you could get away with Crocs year round, even camping. Think of snakes and other things that might come up. You want protection, but you also want to be stealthy if at all possible.

My wife's kicks are Columbias. She has low-tops and a mid-length that covers her ankle. I prefer the mid-length ones. If I'm wearing low-tops, they will unquestionably be Crocs.

I am really hoping this thread kicks off(No pun intended) and we get a lot of input from others.