CPL. / CCW Class

Prepper & Survivalism Forum

Help Support Doomsday Prepper Forums:

getnready

Reaction score
Not sure where to post this but here goes.

Yesterday I took the concealed carry certification class here in Michigan and was shocked at the lack of discipline on the range! I thought I would cover all my bases and get my conceal carry permit although I my retired LEO statis supersedes it.
Ok I was in the military, a range master- for 17 years and I was shocked at how the range time was run for this class! The instructor whom I never met before asked me to help as range safety just on my word I was a state certified instructor for my department.
Some of these people had never shot a weapon before and they were taking this class just made me cringe. I heard they are not really regulated but really! The instructor was an NRA certified instructor that works in our local gun and archery store.

Is this the norm?

getnready

Reaction score
Oh by the way we shot at a regular size sheet of paper stapled to those big 50 gallon plastic barrels outside in 30 degree weather!

Brent S

Top Poster
Reaction score
I'm sure each class and instructor is different. Ive seen some really good teachers over the years, but there few and far in between. I got scuba certified by an ex seal. I though he was the biggest ### hole I ever met, as he was a tough SOB. Luckliy he was really thourough, and years later I had a problem in a cave dive, where his training kept me alive. Later on I took my wife to a local dive shop to get certified. The class was a complete joke. Basically they signed her off and tried to sell us some gear. The best advice I can give is talk to others that went thru the class/instruction before commiting to it.

Silent Earth

A True Doomsday Prepper
Reaction score