Chicks, Chickens and Quackers!

Doomsday Prepper Forums

Help Support Doomsday Prepper Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
I didn’t see a thread on chickens and other fowl so thought I would start one. Even though I have had chickens for 5 years, I feel like I’m still learning and improving on raising them. Had ducks for awhile, but boy did I not do well with them. Most likely it was my inability that was the problem.

Here is a picture of the front of my chicken house. It isn’t that wide, but is longer. (6‘ x 10’). The run is larger and of course we have lots of land for them to roam on when I let them. Inside are two 10’ long roosts...one on each side. Right now I have 6 smaller sized chickens as they are Ameraucanas and Golden Comets. If I should ever have to increase my flock size...for a disaster situation, how many do you think I could keep in my chicken house?

Tried to take a picture of the spire and flowers, but didn’t get it all.

1594659787405.jpeg

Your chicken house is a lot fancier than mine. . ;) And it was an upgrade from what we had when first starting out. It is now a small shed a neighbor wanted off his property. Took an aluminium screen door and put chicken wire on the top part then made a latch type door on the other end that can be raised on the outside into the chicken run. Can't really complain, it was basically a free project and I can walk into the coop to collect the eggs. Nesting boxes are just milk crates laid on their sides.