Cheap Mil-Surp dealer? Basic items--clothing, footwear...

Doomsday Prepper Forums

Help Support Doomsday Prepper Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

John in WI

Reaction score
I've been digging around online looking to pick up some basic outdoor/hunting/prepper stuff. I'm talking basic BDU jackets and pants, boots. Also, hopefully a decent rucksack.

The quality seems to be very spotty (inconsistent with the ads). I nearly purchased a Polish mil rucksack, but read the reviews and every one of them said it was unwearable and extremely uncomfortable.

Who do you folks like to shop with? I'm looking for low cost. Anything used is fine, if it's serviceable and cheap.

I work in a lab, in a very white collar job. So during the week, I am rarely dressed in clothing I would want to bugout in. Dockers, polo-shirt... The idea was, in addition to my normal bugout stuff, I would keep a stash of season appropriate clothing. With summer coming up, probably a boonie hat, light BDU jacket, BDU pants, and some combat boots.
Thanks for any info. I've not been on this forum long, but I appreciate the helpful, respectful info for my newbie-ish questions.

You may be able to better boots commercially. My buddy when he was in the army used to get his issue and give them to me because his were good.
I would wear them out rather quickly, 3 months.
Remember when its surplus, it’s what military doesn't want anymore. I got a pair of Mickey Mouse boots for hunting. 2 winters and the rubber dry rotted. 10+ years later the boots I bought to replace them are still going strong.

Pros and cons to buying milsurp gear. Sometimes other countries make better gear than the US military. Most of the time you can weed out the crap from the good stuff. If you have a military surplus store around you I think it's best to see first hand what is there and if you think it will hold up to what you're putting it through. JMHO.