Advice?

Doomsday Prepper Forums

Help Support Doomsday Prepper Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

LindaS

Reaction score
Hi everyone,
I'm new to prepping and doing it secretly, as my husband does not believe we need to.

So my question is, for non perishable foods, what kind of foods can I add to my shopping list that works in an emergency situation, but won't stand out when my husband reads my list.

Rice and bean in bags don't work as we never eat those, lol. Sorry just finished reading the rice and bean post.

Linda

Well the old saying is true... Store what you eat and eat what you store. I would just buy more of what you already eat if you can't convince your husband to start prepping.

Shop the loss leaders, go to Aldi if you have one. I don't buy off the wall things, I just make sure there is plenty of what we do eat. As for the hubs, point out the way food costs are sky rocketing and it's cheaper in the long run to get what's on sale now.

Canned goods. Canned fruit/veggies. Hormel Chili. Ramen! Just look at the non perishables you already have in your pantry and get more :)

Pretty much what has already been listed here. The only thing I would add is the possibility of adding some seeds that you can plant. You can get them dirt cheap (no pun intended) at Wal-Mart and they are small packages so there wouldn't really be an issue for putting them somewhere out of the way. Granted, they aren't going to be helpful right away until you can plant them and grow the food, but in the long term you would be better off.